The Village of Westmont is an incorporated municipality under the laws of the State of Illinois. The governing and policy-making body of the Village consists of a Village mayor and six trustees elected on an at-large basis for overlapping terms.

The Mayor and Village Board appoint a full-time Village Manager to supervise the operations of the Village. The Mayor also serves as the Village Liquor Commissioner.